top of page

One Thing


If you're anything like me, you read a blog or article about what we should be doing to help the planet, and you feel overwhelmed. Steel straws, renewable energy, plastic everything ---


You might feel paralyzed. You can't possibly do all of the things the experts recommend. May I suggest that you don't bother to try? Choose one thing. We can all do one thing. Here are 5 things you might consider:


Many people think about renewable energy and avoiding plastics. Not many think first about the bees. Bees are essential to the pollination of foods we eat, so farmers won't survive without them, and ultimately neither will we. But bees have been suffering hive loss over the past decade or two. Scientists are still working on discovering the reason why, but there are things we can do to help these little busy bees. Plant flowers that attract bees and other pollinators and buy local honey to support your own natural habitat.


2. Reduce your gas use.

I admit, this is one I could do better. I love to drive, even and especially for no reason. I haven't done it lately, because the cost of gas is so high, but I still enjoy it. In the every day, we can reduce the amount of gas we use simply by planning our errands more carefully. Think about where you have to go and the most gas-efficient way to drive around town. Northeast Pennsylvania is not exactly pedestrian-friendly, and mass transit is less than adequate, so I'll be the last one to tell you to leave the car in the garage, but every little bit helps. Carpooling with your kids' teammates and classmates will also help, both with reducing gas use and also traffic at the ball field.


3. Save water.

There are a million ways to save water. Buying newer, more efficient appliances isn't in the budget for everyone. Instead, consider handwashing dishes instead of using the dishwasher, especially if there are few dishes to wash. Water your plants in the early morning and the evening, not in the heat of the day when it will evaporate as quickly as it nourishes the plants. Planting succulents can help in that area as well, and they're just as pretty.


4. Reduce paper.

Did you know you can opt out of junk mail? We all hate it. We all toss it. Mostly without even reading it. There are ways to remove yourself from those lists all together. You can also opt for e-billing for your PPL, gas, water, sewer, and other bills. I should have done this a long time ago; I'm on a budget plan that is the same every month, so I really don't need a piece of paper to tell me an amount, and I'm going it to pay it electronically, so I should stop those paper bills. It will save the mailman's back, too.


5. Consider composting.

I don't know much about this, but I want to learn. I noticed lately how much of the space in my garbage can is food waste: banana peels, ends of cucumbers, lettuce that went bad before I could eat it. These could be turned into compost and used in someone's garden. You can build a composting box at the back of your yard and manually turn it over as needed, or check into a municipal composting program or community garden that would take your scraps. I'm going to look more into this, and I'll let you know what I find out.


I don't consider what is happening to the planet an "existential threat," as some are claiming. As a Christian, I believe the world as we know it will one day end. Jesus will return, and our bodies as well as the planet will be redeemed and returned to the state God intended. However, God has given Man domain over all the earth, and we need to steward it well. What one thing can you do?



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page